Opinions on food, drink and articles/TV shows involving them

Warning: After reading this post, you may feel the need to go out and buy an Instant Pot. Do not be alarmed. It really is an awesome gadget that I’ve been using a lot lately, as you can probably tell by my Mac & Cheese post. I should probably mention that I’m definitely not being given money or anything else to rave about the Instant Pot, all of this enthusiasm is completely genuine!

This time, I decided to make chicken using the Instant Pot. The problem I have with meat is that most of it is in the freezer. In order to make it, I have to defrost it for a couple  days and then be prepared to make it at that time. I often cook on whims and make whatever I am craving on that particular day. I don’t often plan out every meal and am not prepared enough to make sure I cook the meat I take out of the freezer before it goes bad.

I should also mention that my husband and I eat mostly vegetarian food at home, so having meat is a special treat. Keeping those things in mind, I didn’t have chicken defrosted the day I made this chicken. I began to search for pressure cooker chicken breast recipes that allow for frozen meat. I rejoiced when I found some! More on the meat later…

image

The Instant Pot has a sauté function, which takes a couple minutes to warm up and stays on for 30 minutes, unless you switch to another setting. I sautéed some chopped red onions and mushrooms with salt, pepper, and Emeril’s Essence until they were softened. You can find the Emeril’s Essence recipe here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/emerils-essence-recipe.html. Personally, I’m not a fan of Emeril’s television personality, but this stuff is really good!

image

Here’s a picture of the Instant Pot with the sauté function on. After the onions and mushrooms were softened, I added some water and the frozen chicken breasts, which I seasoned on both sides with salt, pepper, and more Emeril’s Essence. I cooked the  chicken using the poultry option, which cooks for 15 minutes. After releasing the steam and checking the meat, it was still pink, so I did another full cycle of the poultry function.

I could have probably used a little less time, but the meat was still very tender! I was surprised that the mushrooms were quite tasty and were not too chewy, as is often my experience when I put them in vegetable soups.

After the chicken was done, I cut it into cubes and put it in a bowl covered with aluminum foil. The foil kept it warm while I was cooking other things. I kept the juice from the meat in the Instant Pot and used it to make a gravy. I switched back to the sauté function and added white wine, heavy cream, corn starch, and a little salt and pepper to the meat drippings. I whisked the mixture until it thickened and served it with the chicken.

image

I give it 5 stars easily (my rating system does not allow for more). I served the dish over rice and it was delectable! My serving spoon says, “Save room for seconds” and I definitely did have seconds of this meal!

Leave a Reply

