Opinions on food, drink and articles/TV shows involving them

I love that kids are being exposed to cooking at earlier ages. I have many foodie friends who let their children help with age-appropriate tasks during meal-prep.

Growing up, my mom baked a lot. When she was baking a cake, she would give my brother and me a pastry bag and a small plate and let us decorate the plate. I learned to do some really nice piping on cakes. This may also be where my love for sugar came from, though this yearning for the sweet stuff has waned as an adult.

When I was older and staying home with my brother after school, my mom would often hear those dreaded words “I’m bored”. (I grew up in the time before the internet and IPads, so I was in the generation is where being bored was a thing). She would often tell me to bake something, as we kept a lot of boxed baked goods in the house.

One time when I was a kid I baked a cake for my mom’s birthday and frosted it within 45 minutes time. I had band practice after school and knew I’d have limited time, so I asked my brother to mix the batter for me. I quickly threw it in the oven to bake. The box said to cool for 10 minutes in the pan and then cool completely, but the only part I read was the “cool for 10 minutes” part. I frosted the cake and, surprise, the frosting did not melt completely over the cake. It actually turned out well and my mom was so surprised at how I did it in such a short period of time.

It wasn’t really until college that I began cooking on my own and watching the food network. I fell in love with Wolfgang Puck’s accent and his restaurant “The Source” in DC is super yummy. It was in college that I also encountered the genius that is Alton Brown for the very first time. After college, I started to cook more and more and loved it. Sometimes, I wish I had started cooking even earlier.

Rachel vs. Guy Kid’s Cook-off shows 10 to 12 year-old kids making things that I only found out how to make in the past couple years. It’s really amazing some of the things these kids are doing; I would have never imagined cooking with brie or lobster at their age.

I was a little bit disappointed with the finale. There were so many kids left at the beginning of the finale, I thought there were too many to fairly pick a winner. I think it would have been better if there were more episodes and a few more kids eliminated before having a finale, but I guess it was more of a surprise this way. The winner was Gibson, who didn’t have any wins near the end of the show, so it was definitely a surprise.

One nice thing about the show was that the kids were helpful to one another. When one was scrambling and another was finished early, they went to help each other. This was such a nice gesture! On the shows with adults, the contestants are usually all out for themselves. I find it refreshing to have shows with kids who are looking out for one another.

Are there any other food shows you really enjoy? I’d love to hear about them in the comments!

Comments on: "Rachel vs. Guy Kid’s Cook-Off" (1)

  1. Julie said:

    I love cutthroat kitchen! Though the sabotages definitely eliminate that refreshing quality, I find it interesting to see how they manage the obstacles!!

Leave a Reply

